A propos

Vendredi 28 avril 2017

Club SAW

19h

 

Le centre d’arts médiatiques SAW Video est fier de présenter une projection conjointe des œuvres de l’artiste Eva Rødbro (Copenhague) et du duo Duke + Battersby (Syracuse, État de New York). La soirée consistera en la projection de trois œuvres récentes, suivie d’une table ronde animée par Neven Lochhead, directeur de la programmation à SAW vidéo, et d’une période d’échange avec le public. Bien que ces artistes diffèrent grandement dans leur façon d’explorer l'image en mouvement, ils ont en commun un intérêt marqué pour l’adolescence, particulièrement celle des jeunes femmes, que l’on retrouve comme protagonistes dans les trois films présentés.

Les documentaires expérimentaux de la photographe et cinéaste Eva Rødbro sont le fruit d’un processus qui consiste pour elle à s’intégrer dans des petits groupes d’amis, des familles ou des relations plus intimes entre les gens, souvent dans des régions éloignées ou isolées du monde. Établissant un rapport de confiance avec ses sujets, Rødbro est en mesure de capter et d’amplifier certains moments fugaces des relations humaines pour en révéler la vulnérabilité aussi bien que les grandes joies. Grâce à une juxtaposition de sons et des mots permettant de réunir un ensemble de courtes séquences filmées, les portraits vidéo fragmentés de Rødbro évoquent le rythme effréné de la jeunesse, se mouvant de manière à rendre compte des forces qui nous assaillent, nous provoquent et nous façonnent tous tant que nous sommes.

La pratique artistique du duo Duke and Battersby (Emily Vey Duke et Cooper Battersby) s’enracine dans l’écriture. Ces deux artistes ont le don de transformer leurs scripts soigneusement conçus en expériences vidéo dynamiques réunissant différents médiums tels que dessin, performance, chant, fragments de pellicule trouvés, photographies de nature et autres formes de contenu. Recourant à l’empathie comme ressort imaginatif, Duke et Battersby ont occupé et exploré dans leurs œuvres un large éventail de subjectivités, qu’il s’agisse de divinités instables ou de lapins futuristes dotés de la parole. Leur plus récent film, Dear Lorde, s’articule autour de la correspondance d’une jeune fille de quinze ans du nom de Maxine Rose. En écrivant des lettres à ses idoles, tels l’évêque Desmond Tutu, la primatologue Jane Goodall, l’humoriste Louis CK et la star pop Lorde, Maxine entend réaliser son ambitieux projet : devenir une personne digne d’intérêt.

https://www.facebook.com/events/690868094418953/

Nous tenons à remercier l'Ambassade du Danemark à Ottawa pour leur soutien à ce programme.

 

 

NoFilter_Trailer_April 28 2017 screening

 

Programme (75 minutes)

I Touched Her Legs – Eva Marie Rødbro (2010, 15 min)

               Prix : Barbara Aronofsky Latham Award for Emerging Experimental Video Artist, Ann Arbor Film Festival, 2011

               Prix : Most Inventive Film Award, Odense Film Festival, 2011

Dear Lorde – Duke and Battersby (2015, 30 min)

               Prix : European Media Arts Award, Osnabruck, Germany, 2015

 

We Chose the Milky Way – Eva Marie Rødbro (2015, 30 min)

                Prix : George Manupelli Founder’s Spirit Award, Ann Arbor Film Festival, 2016

 

Notes biographiques

La photographe et réalisatrice danoise Eva Marie Rødbro (née en 1980) vit et travaille à Copenhague. Elle est diplômée de l’École nationale de cinéma du Danemark (2015) et de la Gerrit Rietveld Academie (2008). Rødbro a présenté ses œuvres dans le cadre de nombreux évènements, expositions et festivals à travers le monde, notamment : FOAM, W139, NL fotomuseum, Berlin Documentary Forum, Charlottenborg Kunsthal, CPH:DOX et Ann Arbor Film Festival. Elle a documenté la vie trépidante des adolescents du Groenland et des États-Unis dans ses courts métrages maintes fois primés : Fuck You Kiss Me (2008), I Touched Her Legs (2010), Kriger (2013) Dan Mark (2014), et plus récemment We Choose the Milky Way (2015).

Cooper Battersby et Emily Vey Duke travaillent en collaboration depuis juin 1994. Leurs œuvres ont été diffusées et présentées à travers le monde. Duke et Battersby enseignent actuellement à l’Université de Syracuse, dans l’État de New York. En 2010, ils ont été sélectionnés pour le Sobey Art Award. Leurs films sont distribués par Video Data Bank à Chicago, Argos à Bruxelles, V-Tape à Toronto et Video Out à Vancouver. En 2012, une monographie sur leur travail, intitulée The Beauty is Relentless, est parue chez Coach House Press. À l’automne 2015, Duke a fait paraître The Illuminations, en collaboration avec Shary Boyle, aux éditions Oakville Galleries.


Website © 2014 SAW Video Association
Centre d'art médiatique SAW Video
67, rue Nicholas, Ottawa (Ontario) K1N 7B9 Canada
t 613-238-7648  f 613-238-4617
e sawvideo@sawvideo.com

About

Friday, April 28th, 2017

Club SAW

7:00PM | screening | q & a with the artists

Free Admission | Cash Bar

 

SAW Video Media Art Centre is proud to present a joint screening with artist Eva Marie Rødbro (Copenhagen) and Canadian artist-duo Duke + Battersby (based in Syracuse, New York). The evening will feature a screening of three of their recent films, a discussion moderated by SAW Video’s Programming Director, Neven Lochhead, and a question and answer period with the audience. While these artists differ greatly in how they each employ the moving image, all are unified by a sustained interest in adolescence, and specifically young women, who play the central protagonists in each of the three presented films.

The experimental documentaries of photographer and filmmaker Eva Marie Rødbro stem from a process in which she integrates herself within small groups of friends, families, and intimate relationships, often in remote or isolated parts of the world. Establishing a level of comfort with her subjects, Rødbro is able to record and amplify fleeting moments of human connection, vulnerability and unbridled joy. With a layering of sound and language stitching together rapid-fire edits of handheld footage, Rødbro’s fragmented video portraits seem to move at the whirlwind velocities of youth, travelling just fast enough to chart the forces that wound, challenge, and shape us all.

The practice of Duke and Battersby (Emily Vey Duke and Cooper Battersby) is rooted in writing, as they translate carefully crafted scripts into dynamic video experiences that feature drawing, performance, singing, found-footage, nature photography, and other forms of address. Harnessing empathy as an imaginative tool, Duke and Battersby have occupied and explored a wide range of subjectivities in their many works, ranging from unstable deities to futuristic talking rabbits. Their most recent film, Dear Lorde, is built around the correspondences of Maxine Rose, who is just about to turn fifteen. Writing letters to her idols, Bishop Desmond Tutu, primatologist Jane Goodall, stand-up comic Louis CK and pop star Lorde, amongst others, Maxine is determined to tackle her ambitious goal: become a worthwhile person.

https://www.facebook.com/events/690868094418953/

We would like to thank the Embassy Of Denmark in Ottawa for their support of this program.

 

 

NoFilter_Trailer_April 28 2017 screening

 

Program (75 Minutes)

I Touched Her Legs – Eva Marie Rødbro (2010, 15 min)

                Winner: Barbara Aronofsky Latham Award for Emerging Experimental Video Artist, Ann Arbor Film Festival, 2011

                Winner: Most Inventive Film Award, Odense Film Festival, 2011

Dear Lorde – Duke and Battersby (2015, 30 min)

                Winner: European Media Arts Award, Osnabruck, Germany, 2015

 

We Chose the Milky Way – Eva Marie Rødbro (2015, 30 min)

                Winner: George Manupelli Founder’s Spirit Award, Ann Arbor Film Festival, 2016



Bios

Danish photographer and director Eva Marie Rødbro (b. 1980) lives and works in Copenhagen, DK. She graduated from the National Danish Film School in 2015 and Gerrit Rietveld Academie in 2008. Rødbro has exhibited and screened internationally at numerous shows, events and festivals including: FOAM, W139, NL fotomuseum, Berlin Documentary Forum, Charlottenborg Kunsthal, CPH:DOX and the Ann Arbor Film Festival. She has documented the wild youth of teenagers in Greenland and the United States in a her award winning shorts, Fuck You Kiss Me (2008) I Touched Her Legs (2010), Kriger (2013) Dan Mark (2014), and most recently with We Chose the Milky Way (2015). 

Cooper Battersby and Emily Vey Duke have been working collaboratively since June 1994. Their work has been broadcast and exhibited around the world. Duke and Battersby are currently teaching at Syracuse University in Central New York.  In 2010 they were shortlisted for the Sobey Art Award. Their work is distributed by Video Data Bank in Chicago, Argos in Brussels, V-Tape in Toronto and Video Out in Vancouver.  In 2012, a book about their work, titled The Beauty is Relentless, was published by Coach House Press. In the fall of 2015, Duke’s book The Illuminations, a collaboration with Shary Boyle, was published by Oakville Galleries.

 


Website © 2014 SAW Video Association
SAW Video Media Art Centre
67 Nicholas Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 7B9 Canada
t 613-238-7648
e sawvideo@sawvideo.com